ITA Tunnelling Awards: already 50 Candidacies received

As part of its strategy to further enhance tunnelling and underground space awareness on an international level, the International Tunnelling and Underground Space Association (ITA) launched its own Tunnelling Awards program in March 2015. Since the registration opening on 10 April, fifty candidates have applied.

A short-list of pre-selected projects will be officially presented in September 2015. The preselected candidates will ensure a presentation of their projects on 19 November 2015, date of the Prize Awards Ceremony, during a one-day conference at the Hagerbach Test Gallery in Flums Hochwiese, Switzerland. The winners will be announced during a banquet the same evening.

The nine categories of the ITA Tunnelling Awards

Outstanding Tunnelling Project of the Year – up to 50 million euros

Tunnelling Project of the Year – between 50 million euros and 500 million euros

Major Tunnelling Project of the Year – over 500 million euros

Renovation/Upgrading project of the Year

Technical Innovation of the Year

Environmental Initiative of the Year

Safety Initiative of the Year

Innovative Use of Underground Space

Young Tunneller of the Year

The Jury

18 judges, experts in the tunnelling industry, will form the jury: Søren Degn Eskesen, Chairman of the Board and ITA president (Denmark); Han Admiraal, ITACUS chair (Netherlands); Andre Assis, ITA past-president (Brazil), Zaw Zaw Aye, ITA expert (Thailand), Mikael Belenkiy, ITA expert (Russian Federation), Tarcísio Celestino, ITA vice-president (Brazil), Heinz Ehrbar, ITA WG 19 animateur (Switzerland), Amanda Elioff, ITA vice-president, Simon Knight (Australia),  Martin Knights, ITA past-president (United Kingdom), Tom Melbye, ITA expert (Finland), Harvey Parker, ITA past-president (United States of America), Dominique Perrault (France), Andreas Tauschinger (Qatar), Shani Wallis (United Kingdom), Jenny Yan, ITA ExCo member (China), and Chung-Sik Yoo, ITA WG 2 animateur (South Korea).

Award Application and Conference Registration

Registration for the conference and the banquet on Thursday, 19 November, will open in July. The one day conference will focus on the short listed projects and initiatives.

The detailed program will be available in September, once the jury has selected the candidates for the shortlist in each category. The application for candidacy is opened online until 14 August 2015.


Related articles:

Issue 02/2018 ITA Award 2017 in Paris

ITA Awards 2017

“We’re very proud to be able to select the best among 66 candidates as the ITA Award winners in eight categories”, Jinxiu (Jenny) Yan (China), the chair of the ITA Tunnelling Award Committee and...

Issue 01/2019

ITA Tunnelling Awards 2018

ITA president, Tarcisio Celestino stated the importance of this event in his welcome speech: „It is very fortunate for the tunnelling industry that the most important global event celebrating...

Issue 06/2022

ITA Tunnelling Awards 2022 Winners

Awards for Projects, Innovations and Outstanding Personalities Presented in Eight Categories

ITA President Arnold Dix praised the quality of the award-winning projects, underlining that “the Tunnelling Awards is a celebration of the great milestones and the great innovations achieved. It...

Issue 03/2021 ITA

Call for Nomination for the 7th Edition of ITA Tunnelling Awards

Series 7 of ITA Tunnelling and Underground Space Awards is officially launched. Since 2015, the international competition seeks and rewards remarkable achievements within the tunnelling industry....


Call for Nomination for the 7th Edition of ITA Tunnelling Awards

Candidacies can be submitted until June 30th 2021

Novelties for 2021 Since 2015, submissions can be made through different categories showing essential aspects of the tunnelling industry. Over the past years, underground space has been identified as...