ITA Tunnelling Awards: already 50 Candidacies received

As part of its strategy to further enhance tunnelling and underground space awareness on an international level, the International Tunnelling and Underground Space Association (ITA) launched its own Tunnelling Awards program in March 2015. Since the registration opening on 10 April, fifty candidates have applied.

A short-list of pre-selected projects will be officially presented in September 2015. The preselected candidates will ensure a presentation of their projects on 19 November 2015, date of the Prize Awards Ceremony, during a one-day conference at the Hagerbach Test Gallery in Flums Hochwiese, Switzerland. The winners will be announced during a banquet the same evening.

The nine categories of the ITA Tunnelling Awards

Outstanding Tunnelling Project of the Year – up to 50 million euros

Tunnelling Project of the Year – between 50 million euros and 500 million euros

Major Tunnelling Project of the Year – over 500 million euros

Renovation/Upgrading project of the Year

Technical Innovation of the Year

Environmental Initiative of the Year

Safety Initiative of the Year

Innovative Use of Underground Space

Young Tunneller of the Year

The Jury

18 judges, experts in the tunnelling industry, will form the jury: Søren Degn Eskesen, Chairman of the Board and ITA president (Denmark); Han Admiraal, ITACUS chair (Netherlands); Andre Assis, ITA past-president (Brazil), Zaw Zaw Aye, ITA expert (Thailand), Mikael Belenkiy, ITA expert (Russian Federation), Tarcísio Celestino, ITA vice-president (Brazil), Heinz Ehrbar, ITA WG 19 animateur (Switzerland), Amanda Elioff, ITA vice-president, Simon Knight (Australia),  Martin Knights, ITA past-president (United Kingdom), Tom Melbye, ITA expert (Finland), Harvey Parker, ITA past-president (United States of America), Dominique Perrault (France), Andreas Tauschinger (Qatar), Shani Wallis (United Kingdom), Jenny Yan, ITA ExCo member (China), and Chung-Sik Yoo, ITA WG 2 animateur (South Korea).

Award Application and Conference Registration

Registration for the conference and the banquet on Thursday, 19 November, will open in July. The one day conference will focus on the short listed projects and initiatives.

The detailed program will be available in September, once the jury has selected the candidates for the shortlist in each category. The application for candidacy is opened online until 14 August 2015.


Related articles:

Issue 2017-08 United Arab Emirates

WTC 2019 in Dubai

From April 20–26, 2018, the World Tunnel Congress will take place at the International Convention and Exhibition Center in Dubai, UAE. The organizers, the national Society of Engineers – UAE and its...

Issue 2016-07 Event

2017 STUVA Conference in Stuttgart: International Forum for Tunnels and Infrastructure

The international tunnelling community will again assemble to attend the STUVA Conference from December 6 to 8, 2017. In conjunction with the Stuttgart–Ulm mega project, Stuttgart was once again...

Issue 2015-05 Event

2015 STUVA Conference: The international Forum for Tunnels and Infrastructure

The STUVA Conference, the international forum for tunnels and infrastructure, has really become a must on the agenda of committed tunnellers and tunnel operators. The next STUVA Conference will be...

Issue 2012-05 Tunnelling Association of Canada

National Conference 2012 in Montreal

2012 National Conference from 17th to 20th October 2012 in the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Montréal, Québec, Canada. Planning for the Tunnelling Association of Canada’s 2012 national conference in...

Issue 2011-02 Switzerland

Gotthard Base Tunnel wins International Tunnelling Award

Representing the Swiss Underground Community, the Swiss Tunnelling Society picked up the NCE International Tunnelling Award for the Project Gotthard Basetunnel in December 2010, at the Grosvenor House...