ITA Tunnelling Awards 2022 Winners

Awards for Projects, Innovations and Outstanding Personalities Presented in Eight Categories

The 8th edition of the ITA Tunnelling Awards was held as a digital event, which took place from 6th to 8th December 2022. This virtual edition allowed to gather hundreds of attendees during these three days. The event has been extended until January 2023 to allow visitors to see and review the entire programme.

ITA President Arnold Dix praised the quality of the award-winning projects, underlining that “the Tunnelling Awards is a celebration of the great milestones and the great innovations achieved. It also highlights the contributions made to our planet and people.” This year, 70 nominations from almost 20 countries had been considered by a panel of independently select judges. Winners in eight categories were honoured with the Tunnelling Awards 2022.


Major Project of the Year (over 500 million euros):
Purple Line Extension, Section 1 (USA)

Project of the Year (between 50 million and 500 milion euros):
World’s first spiral excavation using H&V (Horizontal to Vertical) Shield Tunnelling Method (Japan)

Project of the Year incl. Renovation (up to 50 million euros):
Guanyinyan Tunnel: an urban tunnel project with a four-arch tunnel of different span widths with ten lanes for two directions of traffic (China)

Technical Innovation of the Year:
Unprecedented In-Tunnel Diameter Conversion of the Largest Hard Rock TBM in the U.S. (USA)

Beyond Engineering:
Multi-pipe jacking method for the construction of city-core metro station in soft soil stratum (China)

Product/Equipment Innovation of the Year:
Integration of Robotics into the construction works of the Chuquicamata underground mining site (Chile)

Innovative Underground Space Use:
V-column Space of Shenzhen Huangmugang Transportation Hub (China)

Young Tunneller of the Year:
Erica Frederickson (USA)


On the Tunnelling Awards website you will find more detailed descriptions of the winners and projects. Until January 2023, access to all the finalists' presentations, the panel discussion and the digital exhibition is also possible there. This requires prior registration.


Related articles:

Virtual ITA Tunnelling Awards 2020 – List of Finalists

Online Conference and Ceremony, 3–4 December

The five previous editions of the event in Switzerland, Singapore, France, China and the USA gathered more than 1200 attendees and 403 entries. In 2020 the award ceremony is for the first time...

Issue 01/2020 USA | USA

5th ITA Tunnelling Awards – The Winners 2019

Since 2015, the international competition “ITA Tunnelling Awards” seeks and rewards groundbreaking innovations and outstanding projects in tunnelling and underground space use. In November 2019 the...

Issue 03/2021 ITA

Call for Nomination for the 7th Edition of ITA Tunnelling Awards

Series 7 of ITA Tunnelling and Underground Space Awards is officially launched. Since 2015, the international competition seeks and rewards remarkable achievements within the tunnelling industry....


Call for Nomination for the 7th Edition of ITA Tunnelling Awards

Candidacies can be submitted until June 30th 2021

Novelties for 2021 Since 2015, submissions can be made through different categories showing essential aspects of the tunnelling industry. Over the past years, underground space has been identified as...

Issue 01/2019

ITA Tunnelling Awards 2018

ITA president, Tarcisio Celestino stated the importance of this event in his welcome speech: „It is very fortunate for the tunnelling industry that the most important global event celebrating...