Herrenknecht awarded the Diesel Medal for Innovation

The Herrenknecht AG has been honoured with Germany’s oldest prize for innovation. Dr.-Ing. E. h. Martin Herrenknecht, founder and chairman of the board, accepted the Diesel Medal in the “Deutsches Museum” in Munich. From the founding of the company onward, Herrenknecht has collaborated with contractors to constantly further the scope of feasibility of mechanised tunnelling. Tunnels today can be built exactly where they are needed, independent of the geological and topographical conditions – with ever larger diameters and under increasingly complex conditions.

Award for the “Most Successful Innovation Achievement”

The Diesel Medal has been awarded since 1953 for industrially successful and enterprising innovation achievements. On 8 April 2016, the winners were announced in the presence of more than 200 guests from industry, politics and media in the “Deutsches Museum” in Munich.

In the category “Most Successful Innovation Achievement”, the board of trustees awarded the medal to the Herrenknecht AG as the technological and worldwide market leader in mechanised tunnelling machinery. “Technical progress is no purpose in itself, but should offer real value to humanity, to a city, to an economy”, said Martin Herrenknecht. Feasibility limits in mechanised tunnelling were something to push against, and which permanently challenge Herrenknecht and the tunnelling industry. Collective pioneering spirit, a trusting collaboration with all project partners and powerful tunnelling machinery were constantly taking the tunnelling industry forward. In August 2015, for example, the parties to the Eurasia Tunnel project in Istanbul, a two-storey road tunnel, experienced the final breakthrough of the tunnel boring machine. The passage under the Bosporus overcame the previous limits in several ways: never before has such a large TBM (Mixshield, Ø 13.66 m) worked 106 m below sea level in such challenging geology.

Diesel Medal

The Diesel medal was initiated by Eugen Diesel, the son of Rudolf Diesel, in 1953. It is awarded by the German Institute of Inventions (DIE e. V.). One of the aims of the institute is to honour the achievements of inventors and companies in public and support their work. Famous winners of the Diesel Medal include Wernher von Braun, Gottlob Bauknecht, Arthur Fischer, Anton Kathrein, Sybill Storz, Viktor Dulger, Karl Schlecht, Friedhelm Loh, the Nobel prize winners Herrmann Staudinger, Ernst Ruska and Manfred Eigen, and the SAP founders Dietmar Hopp, Hasso Plattner and Klaus E. Tschira.


Related articles:

Issue 01/2016 Award

Werner von Siemens Ring for Tunnel Pioneer Martin Herrenknecht

Dr.-Ing. E.h. Martin Herrenknecht (73) builds the world’s biggest tunnelling machines. The tunnel boring machines produced by his Herrenknecht AG are first choice when spectacular projects are...

Issue 06/2018 Austrian Tunnel Day 2018

STUVA Research awarded Innovation Prize

Water-permeable Annular Gap Material for Single-Shell Segment Linings

The STUVA and their research partners have succeeded with a development, which will enable the use of the cost advantages of single-pass tunnel lining even under high water pressures. Until now,...

Issue 06/2022 Germany

Bauma Innovation Award 2022 for Continuous Tunnelling

Herrenknecht AG received the bauma Innovation Award 2022 in the category “Machine Technology” for the new development of continuous tunnelling. The award was given for the next innovation boost in...


Martin Herrenknecht receives the Werner von Siemens Ring

Dr.-Ing. E.h. Martin Herrenknecht accepted the Werner von Siemens Ring – one of the most prestigious technical engineering awards – on December 13, 2016 in the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences...

Austrian Tunnel Day 2018

STUVA Research awarded Innovation Prize

Water-permeable Annular Gap Material for Single-Shell Drained Segment Linings

On 10 October 2018, the Austrian national committee of the International Tunnelling and Underground Space Association (ITA) awarded their innovation prize to the STUVA for the “development of a...