Honorary Doctorate for Professor Konrad Bergmeister

One of the highest ­scientific Awards

On February 1, 2013, a ceremony was held to honour Prof. Konrad Bergmeister, president of the Free University of Bolzano at the invitation of the Faculty for Civil and Environmental Engineering headed by Dean Prof. Jürgen Schwarz. The recipient was presented with an honorary doctorate from the Bundeswehr University in Munich. The awarding of an honorary doctorate represents one of the highest scientific distinctions. As a result such an award is made on very few occasions and only to someone, who has accomplished outstanding scientific achievements...

Related articles:

Issue 01/2020

Dr.-Ing. Roland Leucker appointed Honorary Professor

For his achievements in teaching as well as his professional and scientific merits, the Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) awarded the title of Honorary Professor to Roland Leucker, managing director of...


Managing Director of STUVA Dr.-Ing. Roland Leucker appointed Honorary Professor

Prof. Leucker has for many years held the course “Management of Underground Traffic Facilities” at the faculty, in which students learn about the equipment, operation and maintenance of tunnels....

Issue 07/2014 Anniversary

Prof. Günter Girnau, STUVA Board Honorary Member turns 80

Nothing on this February 8, 1960 indicated that things were soon about to change. The Economic Miracle’s ever growing stream of traffic congested the narrow cobblestone-lined roads of downtown...

Issue 03/2022 Obituary | Nachruf

Prof. Dr.-Ing. h. c. Robert Fechtig Died at the Age of 91

On 1 February 2022, Prof. Dr.-Ing. h. c. Robert Fechtig passed away at the age of 91. With him, STUVA not only loses a highly esteemed colleague in the field of underground construction, but also a...

Austria | Italy

Konrad Bergmeister and Raffaele Zurlo left the Brenner Base Tunnel

Martin Gradnitzer and Gilberto Cardola Take Over as CEOs Martin Gradnitzer from Austria and Gilberto Cardola from Italy take over the positions as CEO for their countries from now. The new CEOs are...